The Cathlamet Prize for Poetry

NOTE:  Submission dates and further information will be provided in advance of the next contest period.  The contest is not currently open.


Submissions should be 32 – 48 pages in length with some thematic or structural cohesion. While we love prose poetry, please send only poems. Multiple entries are allowed, however each collection of poems is a separate entry requiring its own entry fee.

Entries are forwarded for blind review to associate judges Cooper Renner, Harold Bowes and John Burgess who make the final selections and award prizes.  The first-place winner is published in the Ravenna Pocket Series which.  Though diminutive in size, Pocket Series books are full-fledged books, not chapbooks.  Winner’s books are available from this website for $10 each.  Second- and third-place winners are considered for publication in the same series.  Though publication is not guaranteed, second- and third-place winners are awarded their cash prize in any case.

Submission Guidelines

For hardcopy entries

Type or print clearly your name, address, email address, phone number, and the title of the chapbook onto a coversheet. No contact information should appear on the collection itself. Please number the pages and include a Table of Contents with your entry and an entry fee of $15.00 US by check or money order payable to Ravenna Press. Mail your entry to:

Ravenna Press
PO Box 1166
Edmonds, WA  98020

For electronic entry

Email entry

No coversheet is necessary. Include “Cathlamet” and your last name in the subject line. Address the email to: Only the title of the collection (no entrant’s name or contact information) may appear within the attached manuscript which should be a Word or PDF document. Please do include a Table of Contents and Acknowledgments, and number the pages.

Entry fee payment

$15 $15

No more than 2/3 of the submitted poems may be previously published works or works pending publication elsewhere. Winners will be required to certify that the work entered is their own original work and will be asked after the contest has been decided for biographical information for use in promotion. The contest is not open to authors under contract to Ravenna Press, to editors of or volunteers to Ravenna Press or to relatives/partners of those individuals.

Manuscripts will not be returned.

Winners of the 2016 contest will be announced in April, 2017, on the Editor’s blog, and on the Ravenna Press Facebook page.

Postmark deadline

There is no contest for 2015.  The 2014 contest is closed.  Entries will be accepted beginning June 1, 2016 for the 2016 contest.


  • First Prize: $500 (or equivalent in copies of the winning book), and publication in the Pocket Books series (a perfect bound book, 5 x 6″, with ISBN and Library of Congress Cataloguing Number.)
  • Second Prize: $150, or equivalent in copies if accepted for publication in the Pocket Books series.
  • Third Prize: $100, or equivalent in copies if accepted for publication in the Pocket Books series.